Northwestern University and Evanston's Only Daily News Source Since 1881

The Daily Northwestern

38° Evanston, IL
Northwestern University and Evanston's Only Daily News Source Since 1881

The Daily Northwestern

Northwestern University and Evanston's Only Daily News Source Since 1881

The Daily Northwestern

Email Newsletter

Sign up to receive our email newsletter in your inbox.



Five McCormick faculty members take home Cole-Higgins Awards

Daily file photo by Ava Mandoli
The Technological Institute. The annual Cole-Higgins Awards recognize McCormick professors and advisors who are nominated for supporting and mentoring students in their roles.

McCormick Profs. Mike Edmonds, Kyoo-Chul Park, Abigail Stringer, Zachary Wood-Doughty and Chamille Lescott received 2023 Cole-Higgins Awards for their contributions to the McCormick School of Engineering, Northwestern announced Thursday.

Edmonds, Park, Stringer and Wood-Doughty received the annual teaching excellence award, while Lescott earned the award for excellence in advising, according to a Thursday news release.

Edmonds is an adjunct lecturer at the Segal Design Institute’s Multidisciplinary MBA and MS in Engineering Design Innovation Program. He was selected for creating and teaching Mindful Product Management — one of the most popular courses in the dual-degree program — according to the release. The course teaches students to incorporate mindfulness in their design projects.

“Two decades of rapid technology growth have generated enormous physical and digital clutter, distracting our time and attention away from what really matters,” Edmonds said in a 2021 news release. “As product managers, it is our duty to not fill the world with more clutter, but to create products, services, and experiences that provide fulfillment for individuals and communities.”

Edmonds co-founded Moonshot by Pactera EDGE, an innovation studio that helps global brands use emerging technologies to design and scale digital experiences. He now leads data and generative artificial intelligence strategy for Microsoft’s worldwide retail, consumer goods and gaming industry team. 

Park, an assistant professor of mechanical engineering, was cited for his accessible and supportive approach to teaching, according to the release. Stringer was recognized for “skill and caring in teaching multiple core chemical engineering classes.” Wood-Doughty was awarded for his responsiveness to student feedback in machine learning computer science courses.

Lescott, an undergraduate first-year adviser and assistant professor of instruction in the Segal Design Institute, won this year’s advising excellence award for her work with first-year McCormick students, the release said.

“I found her to be an invaluable resource,” one student nominator said of their experience with Lescott,” according to the release. “Her depth of knowledge about the academic programs, course options, and other resources available at our University is phenomenal.”

Email: [email protected]

Twitter: @jacob_wendler

Related Stories: 

Dayna Patterson chosen as NU’s first HHMI Hanna H. Gray Fellow

Crime writer and forensic anthropologist Kathy Reichs to receive 2023 Alumnae Award

McCormick and Feinberg Prof. Eric Perreault to serve as vice president for research

More to Discover