Gabel wins 18th District primary

Katie Park

With the final precinct counted, Robyn Gabel has won the Democratic primary for the 18th District seat in the Illinois General Assembly.

Gabel received 27.15 percent of the vote,’ according to numbers released today by the Cook County Clerk’s office. Patrick Keenan-Devlin finished second with 25.88 percent of the vote. In third Eamon Kelly received 24.83 percent of the vote. Jeff Smith placed fourth with 11.37 percent of the vote and former Evanston alderman Ed Moran finished last of the five candidates with 10.77 percent.’

‘We feel Robyn ran a great campaign, a very positive campaign based on her record of achievement,’ said Joshua Kilroy, Gabel’s campaign manager. ‘She’s delighted that voters responded to that message.’ Gabel received a call from’ Keenan-Devlin to concede the race around 11:30 a.m., Kilroy said.
Although there is currently no Republican nominee for the 18th District state representative post, Kilroy said a candidate may be appointed to run on the GOP ticket against Gabel in November’s’ general election.