Women’s Golf: Wildcats earn three postseason awards, five All-Big Ten selections

Bobby Pillote, Sports Editor

Women’s Golf

Northwestern followed up its Big Ten championship with a strong showing in the conference’s postseason awards.

Coach Emily Fletcher took home Big Ten Coach of the Year, her third time receiving the award in five seasons. She was also named the top coach in the conference in 2011 and 2013.

Freshman Hannah Kim was named Big Ten Player of the Year as well as Big Ten Freshman of the year, besting classmate and conference individual champion Sarah Cho.

Additionally, Kim, sophomore Kacie Komoto and junior Suchaya Tangkamolprasert were selected as First Team All-Big Ten while senior Hana Lee and junior Kaitlin Park were named Second Team. The five All-Big Ten selections is a program record for the Wildcats and the most in the conference this year, narrowly edging co-champion Ohio State’s four selections.

Komoto was also a Sportsmanship Award honoree. One from each Big Ten school is chosen, based on sportsmanship, ethical behavior, academic standing and good citizenship.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @BobbyPillote