Two Northwestern professors elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Mariana Alfaro, Assistant Campus Editor

Two Northwestern professors were elected to the 2015 class of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, an honorary society that often supports independent policy research.

English Prof. Chris Abani and Kellogg Prof. Timothy Feddersen will be inducted in a class that includes Nobel Prize-winning physiologist Brian Kobilka, astrophysicist Neil deGrasse Tyson and Nike co-founder Philip Knight.

Abani, who teaches creative writing at NU, is a poet, essayist, screenwriter and playwright born in Nigeria. He has participated in TED talks and has published six novels. His work includes research on African poetics, world literature, West African music and African presences in Medieval and Renaissance culture.

Feddersen is a professor in the Managerial Economics and Decision Sciences department at the Kellogg School of Management. He is known for his work in the field of managerial economics and decision-making, focusing on how elections are held.

They will be inducted Oct. 10 in Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @marianaa_alfaro