The Daily wins 21 awards at Illinois college media convention

Staff report

The Daily Northwestern won 21 awards at the Illinois College Press Association’s 28th annual convention Friday and Saturday.

In the general excellence category, The Daily received an honorable mention among the daily newspapers. Overall, there are about 35 college newspapers in ICPA.

The competition honored work published in 2010.

The 20 individual awards – six first places, five seconds, eight thirds and one honorable mention – were the most The Daily has received in the past decade. There are 29 editorial-content categories.

The Daily took first and second places in the news and sports news categories. It also won first place for its opinion section, an editorial about the Matthew Sunshine legal settlement, a story about concussions in men’s soccer, a headline about the 2010 Outback Bowl and a photo essay about Dance Marathon 2010.

The full award list

First Place

Editorial: Staff (“A unique opportunity to reassess NU’s alcohol policy”)

Headline Writing: Matt Forman (“AU-BURNED”)

News Story: Brian Rosenthal (“Sunshine family settles with NU”)

Opinion Page: Staff (Forum)

Photo Essay: Chris Kirk (Dance Marathon 2010)

Sports New Story: Katherine Driessen (“Head game”)

Second Place

News Story: Brian Rosenthal and Ben Geier (“‘The plot thickens'”)

Sports Column: Matt Forman (“Unlikely end to improbable season for NU”)

Sports Feature Story: Christine Todd (“Man Behind the Mask”

Sports News Story: Andrew Scoggin (“Big Ten: Expansion in future?”)

Sports Page Design: Morgan Krehbiel (Oct. 11, 2010)

Third Place

Breaking News Photo: Kirsten Salyer (“Search for gunman unsuccessful”)

Entertainment Supplement: Staff (The Weekly)

Feature Story: Andrew Kaspar (“What makes a rager?”)

Front Page Layout: Staff (Oct. 11-15, 2010)

Headline Writing: Elizabeth Male (“Caddies get a new shack”)

Photo Essay: Staff (Homecoming 2010)

Sports Game Story: Robbie Levin (“Terps nix no. 6, down Cats’ dynasty”)

Sports Photo: Ray Whitehouse (Andrew Brewer)

Honorable Mention

General Excellence: Staff

Sports Game Story: Jonah L. Rosenblum (“Northwestern collapses under the lights”)