Lacrosse: Scane, Lasota and Amonte Hiller earn end-of-year Big Ten awards


Daily file photo by Evan Robinson-Johnson

Freshman Izzy Scane celebrates with teammates after a goal. The Wildcats took home three end-of-year Big Ten individual awards Monday.

Ella Brockway , Sports Editor


A day after the program’s first-ever Big Ten title in an upset victory over Maryland, Northwestern claimed three end-of-year awards, the conference announced Monday.

Senior Selena Lasota and freshman Izzy Scane were unanimously selected as the Attacker and Freshman of the Year, respectively. Coach Kelly Amonte Hiller was named the Co-Coach of the Year, sharing the recognition with Terrapins coach Cathy Reese.

The three awards are the Wildcats’ first Big Ten postseason individual honors since Lasota was named Freshman of the Year in 2015. Lasota’s win four years ago was the only time NU had previously earned a Big Ten individual honor — of the 31 awards given in the Big Ten’s five-season history of sponsoring women’s lacrosse, Maryland alone has won 22.

Lasota, who was also a unanimous All-Big Ten selection, currently ranks fourth in the country in goals per game (4.35) and seventh in total goals (74). Scane has scored 52 goals during her first season in Evanston, and earned recognition as the Big Ten Freshman of the Week a record six times this season.

Amonte Hiller has guided the Cats to a 14-4 overall record and its highest seed in the NCAA Tournament since 2012. She was named the American Lacrosse Conference Coach of the Year seven times between 2004 and 2012, but this is her first coaching award since NU joined the Big Ten.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @ellabrockway