Northwestern faculty leaders chosen as academic leadership fellows

Jeanne Kuang, Campus Editor

Five Northwestern professors holding leadership positions have been selected as fellows for the yearlong Academic Leadership Program, a faculty development program that addresses challenges for administrators in major research universities, the University announced last week.

McCormick Prof. Linda Broadbelt, political science Prof. Edward Gibson, Law Prof. Emily Kadens, English Prof. Susan Phillips and SESP Prof. Miriam Sherin will participate in the 2014-15 program, which includes three conferences during the year, according to a University news release.

The program is run by the Committee on Institutional Cooperation, the academic arm of the Big Ten Conference plus the University of Chicago. There are more than 70 fellows total from the 15 universities, said Lindsay Chase-Lansdale, NU associate provost for faculty.

The conferences will feature discussions on topics such as “diversity and inclusiveness, the university of the 21st century, effective leadership strategies and the like,” Chase-Lansdale said in a University news release.

In February one of the conferences will be held at NU for the first time.

“In addition, the engagement that fellows have with each other on campus throughout the year is very productive,” Chase-Lansdale said in the release.

Email: [email protected]
Twitter: @jeannekuang