Bienen, Ryan, others to receive honorary degrees

Elise Foley

Updated May 6, 6:40 p.m.Outgoing Northwestern President Henry Bienen, outgoing Chairman of the Board of Trustees Patrick Ryan and five others will receive honorary degrees at the June 19 commencement, the university announced Wednesday.

Bienen and Ryan both will receive Doctor of Humane Letters degrees to honor their 14 years at NU as president and chairman, respectively.

Also to receive honorary degrees: Columbia University Professor Jeanne Brooks-Gunn, Entrepreneur and philanthropist Fred Kavli, Boston University Professor H. Eugene Stanley and Ohio State University Professor Lonnie Thompson.

More to come.