Students at NU win top awards

Shanika Gunaratna

Four Northwestern students and recent graduates were announced as winners of prestigious scholarships for international study on Sunday.

Weinberg seniors Anya Yermakova and Mallory Dwinal were named Rhodes Scholars, according to the scholarship trust. Lauren Parnell Marino, SESP ’07, was named a Mitchell Scholar and a yet-unnamed NU student was also awarded the Marshall Scholarship, according to a university press release.

This sweep of scholarship winners was the first for NU since 2003, when the university had Rhodes, Marshall and Mitchell winners, said Sara Vaux, director of the office of scholarships, in a press release.

The Rhodes Scholarship funds two to three years of study at Oxford University in England. The scholarship covers tuition and fees at Oxford and includes a stipend for living expenses and travel. Yermakova and Dwinal are among approximately 80 scholars selected worldwide, a group that includes 32 Americans selected from a pool of 769 applicants endorsed by colleges and universities across the country.

Marino is one of 12 students nationally named Mitchell Scholars. The Mitchell Scholarship funds studies at universities in Ireland and Northern Ireland and drew 300 applicants this year. Marino, who as an undergraduate founded the NU Public Interest Program and the Global Engagement Summit, plans to pursue a master’s in Gender, Globalization and Development at the National University of Ireland at Galway, according to the scholarship’s Web site.

An NU student also received a Marshall Scholarship, which every year provides for 40 American students to do graduate study in the United Kingdom. The name of the NU Marshall winner is to be announced today.

[email protected]